Saskatchewan has decided not to follow the federal government's lead in designating September 19 as a provincial public statutory holiday, leaving a number of people to wonder where they stand. 

This comes after Prime Minister Justin Trudeau declared Monday as a federal holiday in honour of Queen Elizabeth II’s funeral. 

However, the decision ultimately comes down each province to determine whether it's a statutory holiday in their jurisdiction. 

While the Government of Saskatchewan has proclaimed the day as a day in tribute and commemoration of Queen Elizabeth II, it has not been proclaimed as a holiday. 

"Her late Majesty's seven decades of selfless public service is an honourable legacy," Premier Scott Moe said in a statement. "We will pay tribute to her incredible dedication and commemorate her 70-year reign in a memorial service in our capital city - the Queen City." 

This means that the day will only be recognized as a holiday in Saskatchewan by all government employees. 

Schools in the area will continue to operate as normal during the day. 

Books of condolence continue to be available for the public at the Legislative Building, Government House, at City Halls in Regina and Saskatoon, as well as the website of the Lieutenant Governor of Saskatchewan.  

A service for the late Queen Elizabeth II will take place on Monday evening at 7:00 p.m., at St. Paul’s Anglican Cathedral in Regina.  

Flags in the province will remain at half-mast for Her late Majesty until sunset that day. 

Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, P.E.I., and Newfoundland and Labrador are marking the day as a provincial holiday. 

September 19 will not be a holiday in Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba, and Saskatchewan. 

British Columbia has opted for all provincial government employees as well as students to get the day off. 

The Queens funeral will take place in the UK at Westminster Abbey at 3:45 a.m., local time (10:44 a.m. London time).