Premier Scott Moe announced some big changes to the provincial cabinet this morning, including a significant change for a Swift Current resident. 

In a provincial release Moe stated the mandate of their new cabinet is to build and protect Saskatchewan.

"To continue building a strong economy, strong communities and strong families," he added, "And to protect all that we have built together from threats like federal intrusion and economic challenges like inflation."

Moose Jaw North MLA Tim McLeod enters cabinet for the first time as Minister of Mental Health and Addictions, Seniors and Rural and Remote Health.

Swift Current MLA Everett Hindley, who previously held McLeod's new title, is now Minister of Health. 

Prince Albert's Carleton MLA Joe Hargrave re-enters cabinet as Minister of SaskBuilds and Procurement, and five other ministers remain in cabinet but take on new responsibilities.

Dustin Duncan is Minister of Crown Investments Corporation and Minister responsible for all the major Crowns, including SaskPower, SaskEnergy, SaskTel, SGI and SaskWater, as well as Minister responsible for the Public Service Commission. 

Christine Tell is now Minister of Environment; Paul Merriman became Minister of Corrections, Policing and Public Safety and Minister responsible for the Firearms Secretariat; Lori Carr is Minister of Highways; and Jeremy Cockrill takes on Minister of Education.

The following nine Ministers will continue with their current responsibilities:

  • Donna Harpauer remains Deputy Premier and Minister of Finance;
  • Jim Reiter remains Minister of Energy and Resources;
  • Gordon Wyant remains Minister of Advanced Education;
  • Jeremy Harrison remains Minister of Trade and Export Development, Minister of Immigration and Career Training, and Minister responsible for Innovation and Tourism Saskatchewan;
  • David Marit remains Minister of Agriculture and Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation, and also becomes Minister responsible for the Water Security Agency;
  • Don McMorris remains Minister of Government Relations, Minister responsible for First Nations, Metis and Northern Affairs and Minister responsible for the Provincial Capital Commission, and also becomes Minister of Labour Relations and Workplace Safety, and the Minister responsible for Workers' Compensation Board;
  • Bronwyn Eyre remains Minister of Justice and Attorney General;
  • Gene Makowsky remains Minister of Social Services; and
  • Laura Ross remains Minister of Parks, Culture and Sport and Minister responsible for the Status of Women and the Lotteries and Gaming Corporation.


In response to Canada's Online News Act and Meta (Facebook and Instagram) removing access to local news from their platforms, Swift Current Online encourages you to get your news directly from your trusted source by bookmarking this page and downloading the Swift Current Online app.