Former Swift Current Broncos head coach and general manager Mark Lamb has been named the winner of the Western Hockey League’s Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy as the league's Coach of the Year and the Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy as Executive of the Year.

The Cadillac product is in his fifth season with the Prince George Cougars and led the team to a Western Conference-leading 49-15-1-3 record in the 2023-24 regular season, their best finish since the franchise moved to the northern B.C. city 30 years ago.

“I’m very honoured to receive the Dunc McCallum Coach of the Year Award,” Lamb said in a video for “It’s totally a team award. It just means that you have a really good team, a lot of good players and you have a great coaching staff. With the addition of Jim Playfair and Carter Rigby, Taylor Dakers, our goalie coach, we have a really, really tight group and they all have a lot to say.

“There’s a lot of people that put in a lot of hard work to get [Executive of the Year]," Lamb added. "When I look at all our scouts, led by Bob Simmonds, finding the players to put into our lineup. It’s been a few years of building this so the acknowledgement that I’m getting, I just want to pass it on to the scouts. You don’t win this without good players. You don’t win this without good staff, and I really want to throw a shout-out to our ownership group who has went through some really lean years here and they never wavered once."

Lamb served as coach and GM of the Broncos for seven seasons from 2009 to 2016. In 432 games behind the Broncos' bench, he posted a record of 221-237-17-29 and the team made playoff appearances in four seasons.

Last season's Coach of the Year winner, Brendan Sonne of the Saskatoon Blades, was named the East Division's finalist while Willie Desjardins of the Medicine Hat Tigers was the Central Division nominee and Mike Johnston of the Portland Winterhawks was the finalist for both Coach and Executive of the Year awards out of the U.S. Division.

Broncos GM Chad Leslie was named the Central Division's finalist for Executive of the Year, with Jason Ripplinger of the Moose Jaw Warriors nominated from the East Division.