The home team for the Montana’s Brier in Regina will be determined at the SaskTel Tankard provincial men’s curling championship starting today at the Nutana Curling Club in Saskatoon. 

Eight of the twelve teams at the event curl out of the Nutana including seven-time Saskatchewan champion Steve Laycock, who will be joined by Swift Current’s Shaun Meachem and Chris Haichert for a second-straight season. Laycock made it to the final of last year’s Tankard in Estevan, falling to Kelly Knapp and his team from the Highland Curling Club in Regina. 

Meachem skipped Team Saskatchewan in the Canadian Mixed Curling Championship in Swift Current in November, winning the event with Kelly Schafer and Chris and Teejay Haichert. 

Knapp will return to defend his championship as part of a field that includes Mike McEwen, who is now curling out of Saskatchewan after representing Manitoba and Ontario in eight Briers.  

The opening draw is at 2:00pm this afternoon with Laycock facing Josh Bryden from the Callie Club in Regina and McEwen taking on the Nutana’s Michael Carss. The round-robin continues to Saturday and four teams will move on to the Page Playoffs on Saturday with the semi-final and final set for Sunday. 

All draws will be available to stream live on the CURLSASK YouTube channel with evening draws and playoff games telecast on SaskTel Max channels 48 and 348.