Swift Current Broncos defenceman Owen Pickering wrapped up a career season by being named this year's recipient of the Julie Forst Memorial Award as the Broncos' Most Valuable Player.

Pickering, who was selected in the first round of last year's NHL draft by the Pittsburgh Penguins, set a career high in points with 45 (nine goals, 36 assists) and served as the team's first captain since the 2019-20 season.

The Broncos also announced on Tuesday that forward Josh Filmon was the team's leading scorer, picking up 47 goals and 75 points in 64 games. Filmon's 47 goals are the most for a Broncos player since the 2017-18 season when Tyler Steenbergen scored 47 and Glenn Gawdin had 56. Filmon was selected by the New Jersey Devils in last year's NHL draft.

The other team award winners were announced during the Broncos' home game on March 21, and are as follows:

  • Humanitarian of the Year Award: Sam McGinley
  • Most Sportsmanlike: Connor Gabriel
  • Gordon May Top Scholastic Achievement Award: Clarke Caswell
  • Fans' Most Popular Player: Josh Fluker
  • Team's Most Popular Player: Sam McGinley
  • Leadership and Maturity Award: Braeden Lewis
  • Charlotte Letkeman Memorial Award for Desire and Leadership: Reid Dyck
  • King of the Road: Mathew Ward
  • Chairman of the Boards: Josh Davies
  • Coaches Award: Drew Englot
  • Most Improved Players: Grayson Burzynski and Brady Birnie
  • Rookie of the Year: Clarke Caswell
  • Tom Ham Memorial Award for Top Defenceman: Owen Pickering and Sam McGinley