Twenty-nine Swift Current football players will be suiting up for the Sask Selects for the next four days at the Battle of the Prairies.

Moose Jaw's Yara Centre will host the tournament that begins today for teams from Saskatchewan, Alberta, Boston, and California. The four divisions including 10U, 12U, 14U and varsity.

"It's a one-of-a-kind tournament for Canada and some of if not the best competition on this side of the 49th parallel," Swift Current Minor Football (SCMF) President Tyson Congdon said.

Locally, there are 184 players registered with SCMF with over 15 per cent of them suiting up with the Sask Selects.

"It shows that our program is trending in the right direction," he said. "We don't only have talented players but dedicated parents in our program. They're willing to bring their kids to Moose Jaw for practices all winter and lots of times the parents don't get enough credit for the sacrifices they make."

The games will be played with four-downs and 11-on-11 similar to the NFL but because they're inside, there will be no special teams. The change in game style Congdon believes will mostly benefit the Canadian players but could pose a few slight challenges.

"Adjusting for the neutral zone, being able to lineup a little bit closer, and then not being able to motion towards the line of scrimmage before the snap on offence," he said. "It's a smaller field so receivers need to be a lot more precise with their routes on middle-of-the-field concepts."

Scouts from across Canada and the United States will be in attendance and watching on the streaming link

Action began this morning with today and tomorrow morning set for tune-up games and scrimmages. The round-robin tournament begins tomorrow afternoon at 2:30 p.m. The championship games commence at 10:30 a.m. on Sunday.

A complete list of Swift Current players is below.

10U - Chay Griffin, Blake Lingenfelter, Davyn Lowenberger, and Josh Woods
11U - Zachary Lake and Trayton Bastura 
12U - Jayce Dale and Liam Jacobson 
13U Cade Napper, Chase Greco, Landon Benjamin, Gib Griffin, and Jamie Robertson 
14U - Ashton Peebels, Chase Auseth, Jake Woods, Colton Hurl, Clay Franklin, Jackson Gording-Dovel, and Cooper Telke
Varsity - Parker Robertson, Austin Bidwell, Aiden Kehler, Owen Sletten, Riley Wingert, Derric Dulatre, Maddex Gording-Dovel, Zach Potter, and Kye Griffin