Nominations were narrowed down to the top three in 9 award categories at the Swift Current Business Excellence (SCBEX) Awards finalists reveal event held last night at Great Plains College. 

CEO of the Swift Current & District Chamber of Commerce, Karla Wiens says selection was difficult this year due to numerous nominations. 

"This year we received over 100 nominations. We had 76 individual nominees this year in 11 different award categories."

The finalists along with the Member Business of the Year and Hall of Fame Inductee were announced via a video presentation at the event. 

Wiens describes the caliber of this year's nominees. 

"It's an exceptional group of people that the community is very proud of."

Award winners in each category will be revealed at the Awards Gala being held on October 27th at the Living Sky Casino Events Center and Wiens says as it's their 25th anniversary this year they will have some extra special additions to share. 

Below is a full list of the finalists revealed last night:


Start-Up/New Business of the Year:  Akhlut Automotive, Jeff Chambers Golf Academy, Sunny Side Up Stationery Co.

Small Business of the Year: Spoon & Bowl Bistro, Pedal Works, Brunswick Creek Psychology Services

Medium Business of the Year:  First Avenue Dental, Len’s Plumbing & Heating, Urban Roots Hair Studio

Large Business of the Year: Full Line Ag, Redhead Equipment, S3 Group Ltd.

Not for Profit of the Year: MCC Thrift Store, Southwest Youth Emergency Shelter (Dorie’s House), Swift Current Curling Club

Employer of Person(s) Experiencing Disabilities: Canadian Tire, City of Swift Current, Home Inn & Suites

Employer of the Year: First Avenue Dental, Stark & Marsh, Len’s Plumbing & Heating

Emerging Entrepreneur of the Year: Dr. Jessy Eben & Dr. Amanda Franks (BITE Dental), Kai Haubrich (Haubie’s Landscaping & Yard Maintenance) Kelsey Grose (Farmer’s Daughter),

Community Impact Award: Devon Oman, Swift Current Kinettes, Plewis Automotive Group

Member Business of the Year:  W.W. Smith Insurance

Hall of Fame Inductee:  S3 Group Ltd.