A flurry of local connections played a major factor in Team Saskatchewan winning their only gold medal in men's hockey at the Canada Winter Games.

The historic hockey moment in Sask. history will be carved into the Saskatchewan Hockey Hall of Fame this summer commemorating the 1995 team.

Aneroid's Patrick Marleau, Kyle's Carson Loftgard, Mankota's Kent Silbernagel, and Swift Current Bronco alum Jeremy Rondeau all suited up for the underdog squad in Grand Prairie, Atla.

When Rondeau was informed the team would be enshrined in the same city where he now lives, it made him realize how large the accomplishment was.

"You don't really think about it [being inducted], it happens, then all the memories, emotion, and the excitement come back from the other players that I played with," he said. "As things led into the announcement, guys started to hear about it, my phone started to blow up. We're really going in? - - We have to get together. This is going to be a major party. Everyone's trying to organize family and friends to get here."

Saskatchewan began their quest for the gold on Feb. 19 narrowly defeating Nova Scotia 2-1 to open the round-robin. They received Feb 20. off but then played five games over the next five days. They beat Manitoba 4-1 on Feb. 21, tied Ontario 3-3 on Feb. 22, and beat Newfoundland 9-3 on Feb. 23 ending their round-robin 3-0-1.

In the semi-finals, Saskatchewan took down Quebec 3-1 on Feb. 24 to set up a rivalry matchup with their provincial counterparts Alberta in the final.

Alberta featured several players who went on to play pro and had four players drafted in the first round of the NHL, Chris Phillips, Derek Morris, Josh Holden, and Johnathan Aitken.

However, Saskatchewan had Darrell Baumgartner and Ross Mahoney behind the bench, which played a pivotal factor all tournament.

"Those guys put us in a mindset, where they led us to believe we could win," he shared. "They did everything in their power to give us the confidence to boost us and prepare us, and lo and behold it comes true that we were able to pull it off."

Saskatchewan stunned the hosts 3-1 to capture the gold on Feb. 25. 

The championship squad included four players that would go on to play in the NHL including underage Patrick Marleau, Cory Sarich, Cam Severson, and Joey Tetarenko.

"At that age to be able to come in and essentially lead the team to victory, he was a key part of it," Rondeau said. "I would also say it was a full team effort. Outside of him being a star in the making, or a star even at that time, everyone contributed and played their role. That's what made it that much more special."

Silbernagel, a Swift Current firefighter, and Rondeau, a partner at MNP's Swift Current office, have discussed potentially receiving the call to the hall for several years now.

"This is likely our only opportunity to get into the hall of fame, as a part of this team," Rondeau said. "Excited to go in with him, and Carson Loftgard from Kyle."

The induction supper is set for July 12 in Swift Current.